TINA: Album (Studio)

Goes Country (1985)

Tina Turner - Goes Country - Album

Goes Country is a reissue of the album Good Hearted Woman, originally released in 1979. It contains previously unreleased tracks from the Tina Turns The Country On recording session. The same tracks were later also issued on several different titled albums like „Sings Country,“ „Country In My Soul“ or  „Stand By Your Man,“ with two additional medleys on compact disc. In the meantime, all songs are available also digitally and in remixed versions. The order of the tracks is different between the various releases.

Producer: Bob Scherl
PhotographerBrian Aris
: August 1985 / Various (Reissue)
Label: Playback / Various (Reissue)
Format: Vinyl / Cassette / CD / Digital

    Side A
  1. Lay It Down 3:37
  2. Written by G. Thomas
  3. Lovin’ Him Was Easier 4:17
  4. Written by K. Kristofferson
  5. Good Hearted Woman 3:20
  6. Written by W. Jennings, W. Nelson
  7. If This Is Our Last Time 3:26
  8. Written by D. Frazier / Promo in 1979
  9. Stand By Your Man 2:37
  10. Written by B. Sherrill, T. Wynette / Promo in 1985
    Side B
  1. Freedom To Stay 2.54
  2. Written by W. Hoover
  3. We Had It All 3:20
  4. Written by D. Fritts, T. Seals
  5. Soul Deep 2:34
  6. Written by W. Carson
  7. If It’s Alright With You 2:50
  8. Written by K. O’Dell, L. Henley
  9. You Ain’t No Women Enough To Take My Man 2:49
  10. Written by L. Lynn
    Only on compact disc
  1. Medley 3:14
  2. Lay It Down, Lovin' Him Was Easier
  3. Medley 2:50
  4. Stand By Your Man, We Had It All, Soul Deep, You Ain't Woman Enough To Take My Man
Tina Turner - Goes Country - Album

Billboard - August 3, 1985

Playback Records, a North Miami Beach direct marketing label, begins this week cable promotion of its album „Tina Turner Goes Country.“ The collection of country songs has not been previously released, according to Jack Gale, president of Music Unlimited Inc., of which Playback is a subsidiary. Priced at $9.95, the Turner album will not be sold in stores, according to Gale. Initial promotion will be on the Nashville Network and the Satellite Program Network.

Tina Turner - Good Hearted Woman - Album

Tina Turner has conquered every mountain in the music world except country….until now!!! Finally, the queen of soul and rock’n roll has attacked country songs with a fury never seen before. You’ve heard Tammy, Loretta, Barbara And Crystal, but now….make way for Tina Turner. Put this great album on your turntable and stand back. Hear country as you’ve never heard it before….Tina Turner style. Now….finally, on Playback Records, Tina Turner Goes…Country. Enjoy!!

Previous: Mad Max (1985)

Back to: Albums

Next: Private Dance Mixes (1985)