TINA: Video (Special)

Break Every Rule (1987)

Tina Turner - Break Every Rule - Video

Break Every Rule was a TV-Special to promote Tina’s album Break Every Rule, released also on home video. It was filmed at London’s Camden Palace in November 1986 with special guest Robert Cray, introduced by Max Headroom. Beside songs from Break Every Rule, Tina performed also some old soul classics like A Change Is Gonna Come. As a special bonus, it includes the music video for the European single Girl’s. Most of the songs were later released on the album Live In Europe in 1988. In 2022, it was remastered and re-issued on DVD as part of the Break Every Rule (Deluxe Edition).

Actually, Wilson Pickett was invited to participate as a special guest vocalist at least on his self-written song „In The Midnight Hour," but because the filming was very complicated with him, Tina and Roger Davis decided to replace him with Robert Cray. A picture with Tina & Wilson was recently released in the book Simply Tina from Paul Cox, who photographed the shooting.

Director: David Mallet
Producer: Jacqui Byford
PhotographerBettina Rheims / Paul Cox
Design: John O’Brien
Release: March 14, 1987 (TV) / June 1987 (VHS, LaserDisc) / 2022 (DVD)
Label: EMI / Pioneer
Format: VHS / Video 8 / LaserDisc / DVD
Charts: USA: #17
Time: 60 Min.
The Band: Guitar, Vocals: James Ralston / Drums: Jack Bruno / Base Guitar, Vocals: Bob Feit / Guitar: Laurie Wisefield / Keyboards, Sax, Vocals: Don Snow / Sax, Flute: Gary Barnacle / Percussions: Steve Scales

  1. We Got The Taste (Pepsi Commercial) 1:05
  2. Only on VHS version
  3. Afterglow (Album Version) 4:00
  4. Written by Terry Britten, Graham Lyle
  5. Intro: Max Headroom 0:28
  6. Back Where You Started (Live) 4:25
  7. Written by Bryan Adams, Jim Vallance
  8. Break Every Rule (Live) 4:25
  9. Written by Rupert Hine, Jeanette Obstoj
  10. What You Get Is What You See (Live) 4:35
  11. Written by Terry Britten, Graham Lyle
  12. Overnight Sensation (Live) 4:10
  13. Written by Mark Knopfler
  14. A Change Is Gonna Come (Live) 7:05
  15. Written by Sam Cooke
  16. Two People (Live) 4:35
  17. Written by Terry Britten, Graham Lyle
  18. Addicted To Love (Live) 5:55
  19. Written by Robert Palmer
  20. In The Midnight Hour (Live) 3:35
  21. Written by Wilson Pickett, Steve Cropper
  22. 634-5789 (Live duet with Robert Cray) 3:10
  23. Written by Eddie Floyd, Steve Cropper
  24. Land Of 1.000 Dances (Live) 3:10
  25. Written by Chris Kenner
  26. Paradise Is Here (Album Version) 5:30
  27. Written by Paul Brady
  28. Girl’s (Music Video) 4:52
  29. Written by David Bowie, Erdal Kizilacay
Tina Turner - Break Every Rule - Video

CashBox - January 17, 1987

Tina Turner comes back to HBO in March for her second solo special on the channel, entitled, promotionally enough, 'Tina Turner Breaks Every Rule'. The crowned queen of Rock ’N’ Roll struts her stuff at a small club in Europe, performing tunes from her recent „Break Every Rule“ LP from Capitol along with some meaty R&B tunes culled from her early repertoire. Blues rocker Robert Cray also makes an appearance.

Billboard - June 06, 1987

To Tina Turner’s credit, she has always aligned herself with top industry talents. In this video, loosely structured on Turner as a chanteuse on the European nightclub circuit, she fronts for such songwriters as Mark Knopfler, David Bowie, and Wilson Pickett and a tight group of musicians who add their heat to her own. There’s even a cameo appearance by Max Headroom. Highly stylized, this is an hour of Turner strutting, syncing, and pouting. A hot ticket for true fans.

Tina Turner - Break Every Rule - Video

Previous: Mad Max (1986)

Back to: Videos