TINA: Album (Live)

Live In Europe (1988)

Tina Turner - Live In Europe - Album

Live In Europe is Tina’s first solo live album, featuring recordings from her Private Dancer Tour and Break Every Rule Tour, plus some additional tracks from the Break Every Rule home video. The songs, including live versions of her duets with David Bowie, Bryan Adams, Eric Clapton and Robert Cray, were recorded at the N.E.C. in Birmingham; Wembley Arena in London; Camden Palace in London (UK); Westfalenhalle in Dortmund (Germany) and the Isstadion in Stockholm (Sweden). In Europe, a total of five single have been released from this album and some releases included also a limited edition 7“ vinyl or 5“ CD single with an previously unreleased „Tendermix“ of the song Two People, remixed by Ben Liebrand. Capitol Records in America released no offficial singles, but two Promo Sampler for R&B and Rock radio stations. The official release in America was issued in a longform package with two separate CD’s. In Australia, Japan and South America this album was released as two separate records: Tina Live in 1987 and More Live in 1988, but in Australia it was reissued as this 2-disc set in 1993.

TINA on Tina Live In Europe: To those who shared it with me, here is a fond reminder. To those who could not make it, here is a part of what you missed.

Producer: John Hudson, Terry Britten
Photographer: Paul CoxTerry O’Neill, Brian Aris
: Ann Field
: Norman Moore
: March 1988
Label: Capitol / EMI
Format: 2 Vinyl / 2 CD / 2 Cassette / Cartridge / Digital
Charts: Germany: #4 / UK: #8 / Europe: #4 / USA: #88
Certifications: UK: 1x Gold / Germany: 1x Gold
Grammy: Best Female Rock Vocal Performance (1989)

    Disc 1
  1. What You Get Is What You See (Live) 5:34
  2. Written by Terry Britten, Graham Lyle
  3. Break Every Rule (Live) 4:29
  4. Written by Rupert Hine, Jeannette Obstoj
  5. I Can’t Stand The Rain (Live) 3:25
  6. Written by Ann Peebles, Don Bryant, Bernard Miller
  7. Two People (Live) 4:27
  8. Written by Terry Britten, Graham Lyle
  9. Girl's (Live) 4:55
  10. Written by David Bowie, Erdal Kizilacay / * Cassette & CD only
  11. Typical Male (Live) 3:59
  12. Written by Terry Britten, Graham Lyle
  13. Back Where You Started (Live) 4:22
  14. Written by Bryan Adams, Jim Vallance / * Cassette & CD only
  15. Better Be Good To Me (Live) 6:29
  16. Written by Holly Knight, Nick Chinn, Mick Chapman
  17. Addicted To Love (Live) 5:23
  18. Written by Robert Palmer / European Single in 1988
  19. Private Dancer (Live) 5:37
  20. Written by Mark Knopfler
  21. We Don’t Need Another Hero (Live) 4:56
  22. Written by Terry Britten, Graham Lyle
  23. What’s Love Got To Do With It (Live) 5:28
  24. Written by Terry Britten, Graham Lyle
  25. Let’s Stay Together (Live) 4:41
  26. Written by Al Green, Willie Mitchel, Al Jackson Jr.
  27. Show Some Respect (Live) 3:05
  28. Written by Terry Britten, Sue Shifrin
Tina Turner - Live In Europe - Album
    Disc 2
  1. Land Of 1.000 Dances (Live) 3:06
  2. Written by Chris Kenner
  3. In The Midnight Hour (Live) 3:32
  4. Written by Wilson Pickett
  5. 634-5789 (Live Tina & Robert Cray) 3:06
  6. Written by Eddie Floyd, Steve Cropper / European Single in 1989
  7. A Change Is Gonna Come (Live Edit) 6:45
  8. Written by Sam Cooke / European Single in 1988
  9. River Deep, Mountain High (Live) 4:12
  10. Written by Phil Spector, Jeff Barry, Ellie Greenwich / * Cassette & CD only
  11. Tearing Us Apart (Live Tina & Eric Clapton) 4:42
  12. Written by Eric Clapton, Greg Phillinganes
  13. Proud Mary (Live) 4:48
  14. Written by John C. Fogerty
  15. Help (Live) 5:04
  16. Written by John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  17. Tonight (Live Tina & David Bowie) 4:15
  18. Written by David Bowie, Iggy Pop / European Single in 1988
  19. Let’s Dance (Live Tina & David Bowie) 3:28
  20. Written by David Bowie / Reached the charts in France at #18 on January 14, 2016
  21. Overnight Sensation (Live) 3:54
  22. Written by Mark Knopfler / * Cassette & CD only
  23. It’s Only Love (Live Tina & Bryan Adams) 4:15
  24. Written by Bryan Adams, Jim Vallance
  25. Nutbush City Limits (Live) 3:43
  26. Written by Tina Turner / European Single in 1988
  27. Paradise Is Here (Live Edit) 5:41
  28. Written by Paul Brady
Tina Turner - Live In Europe - Album

Billboard - April 02, 1988

This fine two-record compendium should have legs to rival Tina’s own. Featured are Turner’s own recent hits: oldies — Ike & Tina Turner and otherwise; blistering covers of such modern-day staples as „Addicted To Love“ and guest shots by David Bowie, Robert Cray, Bryan Adams, and Eric Clapton. LP buyers really lose out: Cassette and CD packages contain four extra tracks.

Tina Turner - Live In Europe - Album

Previous: Tina Live (1987)

Back to: Albums

Next: More Live! (1988)