Twenty Four Seven (2000)

Tina Turner - Twenty Four Seven - Tour

The Twenty Four Seven Tour became the highest grossing tour in 2000 with 95 concerts in North America and 21 open air shows in Europe. It's a retrospective of Tina's career, including her first hit single from 1960 with A Fool In Love, which she didn’t performed for a quarter of a century. Additionally, she added some of her favorite R&B hits like „I Heard It Through the Grapevine“ and „Sittin On The Dock Of A Bay“. After 16 years, when Tina was the opening act for Lionel Richie's Can’t Slow Down Tour in 1984, Lionel was the opening act at the North American leg of this tour, while John Fogerty was the opening act at selected dates in Europe. Tina and John used this opportunity for an unique performance of Proud Mary together at London’s Wembley Arena.

Actually, Tina planned a greatest hits album and an elaborate co-headlining tour with Elton John in 1999. But during the rehearsals for the VH-1 special Divas Live, Tina wasn’t happy with the band and stopped everyone from playing and instructed John how to play Proud Mary.

"I made a mistake when I needed to show him how to play 'Proud Mary'. The mistake is you don't show Elton John how to play his piano. He just went into a rage, which he apologized for later. He said it was wrong.“ 

Because of this, Tina canceled all common activities and decided with her manager Roger Davies to record her final studio album Twenty Four Seven in London and to go on tour by herself. The only concert together was the Millennium Show in Las Vegas on December 30, 1999. But unlike previously planned, Tina opened the show alone and Elton followed her with his own set.

Opening Night: March 23, 2000 / Minneapolis (USA)
Closing Night: December 6, 2000 / Annaheim (USA)
Regions: North America, Europe
Home VideoOne Last Time (2000)

  1. Work Like You Don’t Need The Money
  2. Introduction voiceover by James Earl Jones
  3. I Want To Take You Higher
  4. Absolutely Nothing’s Changed
  5. A Fool In Love
  6. Acid Queen
  7. River Deep, Mountain High
  8. We Don’t Need Another Hero
  9. Better Be Good To Me
  10. or
  11. Get Back
  12. Private Dancer
  13. Let’s Stay Together
  14. What’s Love Got To Do With It
  15. When The Heartache Is Over
  16. Baby, I’m A Star
  17. Background singers while Tina changed, instead of "Hot Legs"
  18. Hot Legs
  19. Background singers while Tina changed, instead of "Baby, I'm A Star"
  20. Help
  21. Whatever You Need
  22. Sitin’ On The Dock Of The Bay
  23. Try A Little Tenderness
  24. I Heard It Through The Grapevine
  25. Addicted To Love
  26. or
  27. Steamy Windows
  28. The Best
  29. Proud Mary
  30. Nutbush City Limits
  31. Twenty Four Seven

The Band: Joel Campbell: Piano, Keyboards, Vocals / Jack Bruno: Drums / James Ralston: Guitar, Vocals / John Miles: Guitar, Vocals, Harmonica / Warren J. McRae: Bass / Euge Groove: Saxophone, Percussion, Keyboards / Ollie Marland: Keyboards, Vocals

The Dancers / Singers: Solange Geniere: Dancer / Clare Louise Burton: Dancer / Ivona Brnelic: Dancer / Stacy Campbell: Singer / Lisa Fisher: Singer / Gloria Reuben: Singer

Tina Turner - Twenty Four Seven - Tour

by James Earl Jones

Work Like You Don’t Need The Money
Love Like You’re Never Been Hurt
Dance Like No One’s Watching
Lady’s And Gentlemen - Tina Turner

Previous: Millennium Concert (1999)

Back to: Live

Next: Caudwell Charity (2007)