TINA: Album (Studio)

What’s Love Got To Do With It (1993)

Tina Turner - What's Love Got To Do With It - Soundtrack Album

What’s Love Got To Do With It is the eighth studio album from Tina Turner and the soundtrack for the same named movie about her life story. It’s also the first album for her new record company Virgin in America. Especially for this album, Tina re-recorded some old songs from Ike & Tina - some of them she hadn’t sung since her divorce from Ike. She recorded also five new songs, including the theme for the movie and hit single I Don't Wanna Fight. Tina performed this song live at her What’s Love? Tour in 1993 and promoted it at some TV and award shows. For the first time, Tina recorded also a studio version of the song Disco Inferno, which she performed live in her early concerts after the separation from Ike. The song „I Might Have Been Queen,“ a remixed version originally from the Private Dancer album, is a little bit longer and includes the additional and never before released vers „I Look Up To The Stars Till I Find My Destiny“. On the American version of the album, there are two songs missing.

For promotion, Tina was in Monte Carlo, Monaco on May 11, 1993 for a press conference and photo shooting and her record company released two Cassette Sampler with selected tracks for radio stations. Some of the pictures from the booklet were photographed at the beach in Malibu.

In 2024, Rhino Records released a 30th Anniversary Edition with the original album fully remastered, a collection of edits, remixes and acapellas and a previously unheard version of the track Proud Mary. Additionally it features the concert from the Blockbuster Pavillion with three bonus tracks and all music videos.

Producer: Chris Lord-Alge, Tina Turner, Roger Davies 
Photographer: Herb Ritts / Peter Lindbergh
MakeupKevyn Aucoin 
Design: Norman Moore
: June 1993
Label: Parlophone (Europe) / Virgin (USA)
Format: Vinyl / CD (Picture) / MiniDisc / Cassette / Digital
Charts: UK: #1 / Europe: #4 / Germany: #8 / USA: #17 / Australia: #30
Certifications: UK: 1x Platinum / USA: 1x Platinum / Germany: 1x Gold

    Side A
  1. I Don’t Wanna Fight 6:09
  2. Written by Steve DuBerry, Lulu, Billy Lawrie / Produced by Chris Lord-Alge, Roger Davies / Single in 1993
  3. Rock Me Baby 3:59
  4. Written by B.B. King, Joe Josea
  5. Disco Inferno 4:06
  6. Written by Leroy Green, Ron "Have Mercy“ Kersey / Single in 1993
  7. Why Must We Wait Until Tonight? 5:55
  8. Written by Bryan Adams, Robert John Lange / Produced by Bryan Adams, Robert John "Mutt“ Lange / Single in 1993
  9. Stay Awhile 4:52
  10. Written by Terry Britten, Graham Lyle
  11. Nutbush City Limits 3:20
  12. Written by Tina Turner
  13. (Darlin’) You Know I Love You 4:29
  14. Written by B.B. King, Jules Taub
    Side B
  1. Proud Mary 5:27
  2. Written by John C. Fogerty / Single in 1994
  3. A Fool In Love 2:56
  4. Written by lke Turner
  5. It’s Gonna Work Out Fine 2:51
  6. Written by Sylvia McKinney, Rose McCoy
  7. Shake A Tail Feather 2:34
  8. Written by Verlie Rice, Otis Hayes, Andre Williams / Not on the American version
  9. I Might Have Been Queen (Remix) 4:22
  10. Written by Rupert Hine, Jeanette Obstoj, James West-Oram / Produced by Rupert Hine
  11. What’s Love Got To Do With It 3:51
  12. Written by Terry Britten, Graham Lyle / Produced by Terry Britten
  13. Tina’s Wish 3:08
  14. Written by Tina Turner, Ike Turner / Not on the American version
Tina Turner - What's Love Got To Do With It - Soundtrack Album

Billboard - July 03, 1993

First effort for Virgin by veteran vocalist doubles as the soundtrack for current biopic on Turner's stormy life with ex-husband Ike. Majority of the material here is recut versions of such older Turner hits as „Proud Mary,“ „A Fool In Love,“ and „It’s Gonna Work Out Fine“ (title track is represented by hit '84 version); new (and commercially very promising) material includes slinky „Why Must We Wait Until Tonight,“ co-penned and produced by Bryan Adams. Strong critical reception for movie should spice sales.

Tina Turner - What's Love Got To Do With It - Soundtrack Album

Billboard - June 12, 1993

Tina - The music behind the story what’s love got to do with it - Her sizzling new album with 14 new tracks, including the smash hit single I Don’t Wanna Fight - A new album on a new label. The soundtrack to her life story. And her first North American tour in six years.

Previous: Live In Chicago (1992)

Back to: Albums

Next: Greatest Hits (1994)