TINA: Video (Concert)

Wild Lady of Rock (1984)

Tina Turner - Wild Lady of Rock (At the Apollo) - Video

Wild Lady of Rock is the long version of Tina’s first solo home video with a concert from London’s Apollo Theatre, recorded on March 25, 1979. Dressed in Bob Mackie costumes and supported by four dancers, Tina performed several cover versions of popular songs, some old ones from Ike & Tina and some new tracks from her solo records Rough and Love Explosion. The video was first released in short form with a running time about 31 minutes in 1979 under the title At The Apollo. After Tina’s comeback, it was also released as an one hour concert under the titles „Wild Lady of Rock“ and „Queen of Rock'n Roll“. Unfortunately, at least the songs „Life In A Fast Lane,“ „Fruits Of The Night“ and an early version of „Hollywood Nights“ are missing from the original setlist. Additionally, the songs from the medley as well as „I’ve Been Loving You Too Long,“ „Give It Up“ and „Music Keeps Me Dancing“ were faded out.

Director: Steve Turner
Producer: Carl Fischer 
: June 1984 (VHS) / 1986 (LaserDisc)
Label: VCL / Hendring
Format: VHS / Laserdisc
Time: 60 Min.

  1. The Bitch Is Back (Live) 2:34
  2. Written by Elton John, Bernie Taupin
  3. Crazy Cajun Cakewalk Band (Live) 4:24
  4. Written by L. Vegas, P. Vegas, J. Ford
  5. Hot Legs (Live) 3:00
  6. Written by Gary Grainger, Rod Stewart
  7. Nutbush City Limits (Live) 3:07
  8. Written by Tina Turner
  9. River Deep, Mountain High (Live) 3:52
  10. Written by Phil Spector, Jeff Barry, Ellie Greenwich
  11. The Woman I’m Supposed To Be (Live) 3:28
  12. Written by C. Wade
  13. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (Live) 3:24
  14. Written by Otis Redding, J. Butler
  15. Can’t Turn You Loose (Live) 2:12
  16. Written by Otis Redding
  17. Don’t Leave Me This Way (Live) 2:18
  18. Written by Kenneth Gamble, Leon Huff, Cary Gilbert
  19. Givin’ It Up For Your Love (Live) 2:25
  20. Written by Jerry Lynn Williams
  21. Fever (Live) 2:07
  22. Written by Eddie Cooley, John Davenport
  23. Disco Inferno (Live) 2:48
  24. Written by Leroy Green, Ron Kersey
  25. Music Keeps Me Dancin’ (Live) 1:22
  26. Written by Lenny Macaluso, Pat Summerson
  27. Help Me Make It Through The Night (Live) 3:13
  28. Written by Kris Kristofferson
  29. Everyone Is A Winner (Live) 4:43
  30. Written by E. Brown
  31. Root, Toot Undisputable Rock’n Roller (Live) 3:18
  32. Written by G. Jackson
  33. You Don’t Bring Me Flowers Anymore (Live) 2:51
  34. Written by Alan & Marilyn Bergman
  35. Sometimes When We Touch (Live) 3:30
  36. Written by D. Hill, B. Mann
  37. Medley (Live) 4:34
  38. It's Gonna Work Out Fine, A Fool In Love, Honky Tonk Women, Acid Queen, I Want To Take You Higher, Le Freak, Proud Mary, Music Keeps Me Dancin'
Tina Turner - Wild Lady of Rock (At the Apollo) - Video

CashBox - May 26, 1984

Queen Tina - Tina Turner will soon be available on videocassette. „Tina Turner - Queen of Rock 'N’ Roll“ is being offered in June by VCL for the suggested retail price of $29.95. The hour-long concert special features the indefatigable legend hammering out some of her best known tunes, including „Proud Mary," „Fever,“ „Acid Queen,“ and „Nutbush City Limits“.

Previous: Nice ’N' Rough (1982)

Back to: Videos

Next: Private Dancer (1984)