IKE & TINA: Album (Studio)

Workin’ Together (1970)

Ike & Tina Turner - Workin' Together - Album

Workin' Together is Ike & Tina’s most successful studio album, which reached gold status in America. It features also the most successful single of the duo with Proud Mary, a rock styled cover version, originally released from the band Creedence Clearwater Revival. The song „Funkier Than A Mosquita's Tweeter“ was written by Tina’s sister Alline and was later covered by Nina Simone. Some of the songs were credited to Eki Renrut, which is Ike Turner’s name in backwards. For promotion, Liberty released a vinyl promo single, featuring two different Radio Spots. The album was reissued several times on CD, among others in 2011 on the double CD Workin’ Together / Let Me Touch Your Mind and in 2018 as a mini LP replica with a cardboard sleeve in Japan.

Producer: Ike Turner
Recorded: A Bolic Sound
PhotographerHerb Kravitz 
Design: Ron Wolin
Release: December 1970 / Various (Reissue)
Label: Liberty / Various (Reissue)
Format: Vinyl (Colored) / Cartridge / Reel Tape  / Cassette / CD
Charts: USA: #3 (R&B), #25 (Pop) / Germany: #12
Certifications: USA: 1x Gold

    Side A
  1. Workin’ Together 3:35
  2. Written by Eki Renrut / Single in 1970
  3. (As Long As I Can) Get You When I Want You 2:24
  4. Written by George Jackson, Raymond Moore
  5. Get Back 3:05
  6. Written by Paul McCartney, John Lennon / Single in 1972
  7. The Way You Love Me 2:40
  8. Written by Ike Turner
  9. You Can Have It 3:30
  10. Written by Ike Turner
  11. Game Of Love 2:48
  12. Written by Eki Renrut
    Side B
  1. Funkier Than A Mosquitas Tweeter 2:35
  2. Written by Alline Bullock
  3. Ooh Poo Pah Doo 3:36
  4. Written by Jessie Hill / Single in 1971
  5. Proud Mary 4:57
  6. Written by John C. Fogerty / Single in 1971
  7. Goodbye, So Long 1:57
  8. Written by Ike Turner
  9. Let It Be 3:11
  10. Written by Paul McCartney, John Lennon
Radio Spot
Ike & Tina Turner - Workin' Together - Album

Billboard - November 21, 1970

Nobody works harder than Ike & Tina Turner and workin’ together they take top material, rip it up, and resoul „Proud Mary,“ „Let It Be,“ „Get Back“ and „Ooh Poo Pah Doo“ their way. The duo gather a full head of funky, raucous steam, hitting only the heights of energy and excitement on the title romp, plus more of Ike's super rhythm workouts. Can't keep this kind of 'up' music down.

Ike & Tina Turner - Workin' Together - Promo


"… John Fogerty hasn’t heard a thing until  he hears Tina do 'Proud Mary.'  The spoken introduction done over guitar and Ike singing the song in the background is perfect. The pick-up from the slow portion of their arrangement to the up-tempo one is done with precision and flash."

Previous: Get It Together (1970)

Back to: Albums