IKE & TINA: Song

Honky Tonk Women

is a song from The Rolling Stones, written late December 1968 to early January 1969, while the group was on holiday in Brazil and inspired by Brazilian ‚caipiras' (inhabitants of rural, remote areas of parts of Brazil). Ike & Tina Turner covered the song one year later for the album Come Together and performed it repeatedly in their concerts, available on many live albums. Tina performed it together with Ann Margret in her own TV-Show in 1975 and later solo in her Nice 'N' Rough concerts. In 1988 in Osaka and again in 1989 at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ceremony, she performed it together with Mick Jagger live on stage.

Writer: Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
Producer: Ike Turner
Album: Come Together (1970) / Live In Paris (1971) / What You Hear Is What You Get (1971) / The World of Ike & Tina (1973) / Live at Circus Krone (1993) / Live In '71 (2004)
Video: Live In '71 (2004) / Nice ’N' Rough (1982) / Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (2011)

  1. Honky Tonk Women 3:10
  2. From the album 'Come Together'
  3. Honky Tonk Women (Live) 3:05
  4. From the album 'Live In Paris' with a concert from the Olympia Theater on January 30, 1971
  5. Honky Tonk Women (Live) 3:04
  6. From the album 'What You Hear Is What You Get' with a concert from the Carnegie Hall in New York City on April 1, 1971
  7. Honky Tonk Women (Live) 3:09
  8. From the album 'The World of Ike & Tina' from their European Tour in 1971
  9. Honky Tonk Women (Live) 3:01
  10. From the album 'Live at Circus Krone' with a concert from Munich, Germany in 1971
  11. Honky Tonk Women (Live) 3:07
  12. From the album and home video 'Live In 71' with a concert from the Kurhaus in Scheveningen, Netherlands on February 11, 1971

Previous: Hollywood Nights

Back to: Songs

Next: Hot Legs