IKE & TINA: Album (Studio)

Let Me Touch Your Mind (1973)

Ike & Tina Turner - Let Me Touch Your Mind - Album

Let Me Touch Your Mind was recorded at Ike’s Bolic Sound studio in July 1972 and features two tracks written by Tina Turner. The album was originally released with a very special deluxe foldout cover, designed and with many artistic pictures from Norman Seeff. He photographed Ike & Tina as well as Tina solo many times. The title track Let Me Touch Your Mind was the only worldwide single, while Annie Had A Baby was only released in Portugal. The song Early One Morning was only promoted in America and was the b-side on the European single With A Little Help From My Friends. The track „Born Free“ was taken from the same named Columbia motion picture. The album was reissued several times on CD, among others in 2011 on the double CD Workin’ Together / Let Me Touch Your Mind  and in 2018 as a mini LP replica with a cardoard sleeve in Japan.

Producer: Ike Turner, Andre Williams
Recorded: Bolic Sound, July 1972
Design: Norman Seeff, Dave Bhano
Release: January 1973 / Various (Reissue)
Label: United Artists / Various (Reissue)
Format: Vinyl (Gatefold) / Cassette / Cartridge / Reel Tape / CD

    Side A
  1. Let Me Touch Your Mind 4:08
  2. Written by Oliver Sain / Single release in 1972
  3. Annie Had A Baby 2:43
  4. Written by H. Glover, L. Mann / Single in 1973
  5. Don’t Believe Her 2:47
  6. Written by Ike Turner
  7. I Had A Notion 2:42
  8. Written by J. Morris
  9. Popcorn 3:04
  10. Written by Tina Turner
    Side B
  1. Early One Morning 3:33
  2. Written by Little Richard / Single in 1973
  3. Help Him 3:38
  4. Written by Tina Turner
  5. Up On The Roof 2:53
  6. Written by G. Goffin, C. King
  7. Born Free 3:18
  8. Written by J. Barry, D. Black / From the Columbia motion picture "Born Free"
  9. Heaven Help Us All 3:09
  10. Written by R. Miller
Ike & Tina Turner - Let Me Touch Your Mind - AlbumIke & Tina Turner - Let Me Touch Your Mind - Album

Billboard - February 03, 1973

Just about the same thing can be said about the latest Ike & Tina album as about their other recent-vintage successes on UA. It is burningly energetic soul with Tina's uniquely sexy showmanship way out front on display, in a well-conceived program of Turner originals and covers. Duos next hit could be the slow-cooking title tune or Tina's lecture on mating „Help Him“. Jacket packaging is a unique foldout poster with computer-processed abstractions.

Previous: 16 Great Performances (1973)

Back to: Albums

Next: The Best of Ike & Tina (1973)