TINA: Single

On Silent Wings (1996)

Tina Turner - On Silent Wings - Single

On Silent Wings is a country-flavoured song, taken from the album Wildest Dreams. Written by Tony Joe White and Tina’s guitarist James Ralston and remixed by the New York production duo Soul Solution, it was the second single in Europe and the third one in America, including guest vocals from Sting. Tina promoted the song at several TV-Shows and used it as the encore at her Wildest Dreams Tour. A live version is available on the Live In Amsterdam home video from 1997 and the When The Heartache Is Over single from 1999.

Writer: Tony Joe White, James Ralston
Producer: Trevor Horn
Photographer: Tony McGee
Art Direction & Design: Jeremy Plump @ Sonicon
Release: May 1996 (Europe) / May 1997 (USA) 
Label: Parlophone (Europe) / Virgin (USA)
Format: 7“ Vinyl / 12“ Vinyl / 5“ CD / Cassette 
Charts: UK: #13 / Europe: #45, #6 (Airplay) / Germany: #55 / USA: #47 (Club Play)
AlbumWildest Dreams

  1. On Silent Wings (Trevor Horn Remix) 4:20
  2. On Silent Wings (Alternative Version) 4:20
  3. From the 5" disc
  4. On Silent Wings (Trevor Horn Remix Edit) 3:43
  5. On Silent Wings (Call Out Research Hook) 0:08
  6. From the 5" promotional disc
  7. On Silent Wings (Soul Solution Club Mix) 8:32
  8. On Silent Wings (Soul Solution Instrumental) 8:32
  9. On Silent Wings (Soul Solution Percapella) 8:32
  10. On Silent Wings (Soul Solution Radio Edit) 3:51
  11. From the 12" promotional record / Remixes by Trevor Horn & Bobby Guy, Ernie Lake (Soul Solution)
  12. On Silent Wings (Soul Solution Club Mix Edit) 7:32
  13. From the DJ sampler 'Summer Souvenir'
  14. On Silent Wings (Soul Solution Club Mix Edit) 6:44
  15. From the DJ sampler 'Winter Party'
    Additional tracks:
  1. Do Something 3:20
  2. Previously Unreleased / Written by Holly Knight, Mike Chapman / Produced by Trevor Horn
  3. Private Dancer (Edit) 4:01
  4. Taken from the 7" single
  5. The Best (Edit) 4:16
  6. Taken from the 7" single
  7. I Don’t Wanna Lose You 4:21
  8. Taken from the album 'Foreign Affair'
  9. Whatever You Want 6:03
  10. Taken from the single 'Whatever You Want'
Tina Turner - On Silent Wings - Single

The music video was filmed in South Africa at a beach and the mountains around Cape Town. It includes also some live scenes from the Wildest Dreams Tour and shows Tina walking through the streets of Cape Town, surrounded by locals. The clip was never officially released on home video but is available on the Behind The Dreams promotional video on VHS.

Director: David Mallet
Home Video: Never officially released / Behind the Dreams
Time: 4:16

Tina Turner - On Silent Wings - Music Video

Billboard - April 19, 1997

On the eve of La Tina’s first stateside concert tour in eons, Virgin plucks one of the strongest and more radio-friendly tunes from the diva’s gorgeous (and sadly underappreciated) current disc „Wildest Dreams“. Her worldly perspective adds depth to the lyrics of this melancholy rock ballad, which also shows producer Trevor Horn tempering his signature melodramatic keyboard sound with subtle acoustic strumming that never distracts the ear from Turner. Additional programming incentive comes from a laid-back cameo by Sting, though this lovely single would merit the ardent attention of pop, triple-A, and even mainstream rock radio without such stunt casting.

Previous: Whatever You Want (1996)

Back to: Singles

Next: Missing You (1996)